what adults can learn from kids about being adults

I knew I’d been away from this blog for too long when my boyfriend asked me if I’d given up on small acts of kindness. No! Of course not.

The past month has been a whirlwind. I started a new job as well as my last semester of graduate school, and I’ve been trying to make good on my New Year’s resolution to be a better friend to my friends. What’s more, I’ve been preoccupied with trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.

Graduate school has been an incredible experience, including providing a second adolescence, time away from work to think about how to contribute to the world in a way that will do the most good. Now, with the clock ticking toward graduation, I’ve found myself in a panic. I officially reenter adulthood on May 23 and I don’t have all the answers like I thought I would.

Then yesterday, while sick in bed, I stumbled upon a TED talk by child prodigy Adora Svitak. Only 13 years old, Adora is a self-described “educator, poet and humanitarian.” In her talk, she argues that the world needs more “childish” thinking, ideas that are bold, creative and optimistic.

Adora’s presentation helped me realize that I have been taking myself way too seriously. Instead of looking for that next brilliant career move, I need to come up with not one idea, but dozens. Some will be good, some will be average and some will be complete rubbish. But it’s important to sort through the wrong stuff to get to the right stuff. Then it hit me. I’ve been doing this all along. Sometimes it takes inspiration from a child to find clarity as an adult.

You’ve likely heard the saying, it doesn’t take a genius to figure (fill in the blank) out. Well, in this case it did. And a very small one at that.

Thank you, and be kind.

Leave a Reply

